Program


Paris : 02:30 PM

New York : 08:30 AM

Shanghai : 09:30 PM

clock

The bakery holy grail? Ingredients & technologies for tasty health

Fat, salt and sugar reduction in bakery isn’t new, but do formulation capacities and potential match up to ever-growing demands from both consumers and governments?

Overcoming technical hurdles has become the norm in bakery reformulation, and some ingredients and technologies work better than others.

This technical webinar will provide a recipe book of not-to-miss ingredients, insight on upcoming R&D and a handful of taste and texture tricks added in for good measure.

  • Jos Vast
  • Jos Vast
  • Managing Partner & Senior Consultant
  • Bakery Academy
  • LinkedIn Jos Vast

Paris : 03:15 PM

New York : 09:15 AM

Shanghai : 10:15 PM

clock

Microalgae – the future of foods? Take baked goods…

Our distant ancestors, microalgae have played a major role in the development of life on Earth.
Today their exceptional properties – nutrition, renewability, functionalities – point to a future of great importance to humankind: involvement in feeding a growing world population.

Find out about the promise of microalgae in this Roquette baked goods webinar. Roquette is opening up opportunities for the baking industry with its FIE Award-winning High Lipid Algal Flour – and other microalgae solutions for protein enrichment.
Get the facts about how this algal flour delivers on texture and nutrition, including gluten-free products.
Find out what consumers think. Be inspired by the latest baked goods concepts!


Paris : 04:00 PM

New York : 10:00 AM

Shanghai : 11:00 PM

clock

Marketing healthy bakery: What does the consumer really want?

How do you convince a consumer to buy your fat-free donut on impulse when the full-fat, extra chocolate version is on display too?

The global bakery sector has developed an array of better-for-you products, overcoming lots of technical hurdles to get there, but the buck doesn’t stop there. These products need to sell and have consumers coming back for more…

Datamonitor Consumers’ innovation pundit Tom Vierhile will dig up ideas and secrets on how to win consumers – strategies that are often left in the boardroom.

  • Tom Vierhile
  • Tom Vierhile
  • Innovation Insights Director
  • Datamonitor Consumer
  • LinkedIn Tom Vierhile

Paris : 04:45 PM

New York : 10:45 AM

Shanghai : 11:45 PM

clock

Clean and natural: getting to the heart of it

One of the lead drivers among retailers and producers of bakery products is ‘clean label’. Similarly hot topics are ‘natural’ and ‘organic ’. These stem largely from consumer demand. Developed markets, including Western Europe, have created a culture of label checking where their food is concerned. Consumers want to ensure that their food is as nutritious and delicious as possible, with as few E-numbers and ‘chemical’ additives as possible.

The challenge put to bakeries today is to meet the demand for clean label products. Alternatives need to be identified for the additives that are used in bakery products. The challenge is to find a replacement ingredient that will work just as well as the former ‘standard’ ingredient. Extensive testing is required to ensure that product properties are not impacted by this change.

It was once thought that clean label was merely a trend that would pass in time. That is not the case. Clean label requirements, often formulated in ‘ingredient policies’, are here to stay and will continue to grow in importance. But what will the new ‘standard’ be? What if functionality, taste, price or freshness of bakery products is influenced by excluding technologically ‘functional’ additives?

At the moment, each retailer has its own guidelines for what makes a product ‘clean’. The term ‘natural’ is open to interpretation. However, there is a regulated EU definition and certification system for ‘organic’ ingredients and products.
In order to stay on-trend and satisfy consumers, baking innovation will need to take a front seat. Products must be critically reviewed and reformulated using new clean, natural and in some cases organic ingredients. At the same time, bakery producers must stay rational and realistic in this matter. An important part of the answer lies in using innovative ingredients that will deliver the same functionality that both bakers and retailers have come to trust.

View more

 


Paris : 05:30 PM

New York : 11:30 AM

Shanghai : 12:30 AM

clock

The Roundtable -‘Is self-regulation sufficient?’

Should fat, salt and sugar reduction in bakery be regulated – or is industry doing enough?

Bakery manufacturers face increasing pressure to develop healthier variants as global obesity and diet-related illness spiral. Industry has been making efforts and R&D continues to push the limits but would regulation spark more change?

If regulated, who should set the targets? Some suggest governments should step in, while others argue that regulation would hinder innovation.

The question of self-regulation continues to rock the biggest and smallest of bakery companies, so this is a discussion not to be missed.

 

  • Robb MacKie
  • Robb MacKie
  • President and CEO
  • American Bakers Association
  • LinkedIn Robb MacKie